skip to content


Jawaharlal College was established on 26th January, 1964 to cater to the long-felt educational needs of the area. It has been named after our beloved first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Initially it was affiliated to the Utkal University and subsequently to the Sambalpur University. With the introduction of +2 Classes from 1983-84 session, the college is affiliated to the Council of Higher Secondary Education (CHSE), Orissa. Though started in a humble way, the College has made rapid strides in various spheres. It provides honours teaching in English, Oriya, Political Science, History, Economics, Education, Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Mathematics and Computer Science. It has a committed faculty comprising 37 teachers, 28 ministerial and 21 support staff members. The institution secured NAAC accreditation and got C++ in November 2006.